Coverart for item
The Resource Murder in the afternoon, Frances Brody

Murder in the afternoon, Frances Brody

Label
Murder in the afternoon
Title
Murder in the afternoon
Statement of responsibility
Frances Brody
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in this absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. Dead one minute... Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help. Alive the next? When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and thereis no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away? A sinister disappearing act It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk"--
  • "An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in this absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. Dead one minute... Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help. Alive the next? When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away? A sinister disappearing act It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.C577
LC item number
M67 2014
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
  • A Kate Shackleton mystery ;
  • A Kate Shackleton mystery ;
  • A Kate Shackleton mystery ;
Label
Murder in the afternoon, Frances Brody
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain by Piatkus"--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
387 pages
Isbn
9781250037022
Lccn
2013039454
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn862222162
  • 682879
Label
Murder in the afternoon, Frances Brody
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain by Piatkus"--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
387 pages
Isbn
9781250037022
Lccn
2013039454
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn862222162
  • 682879

Library Locations

    • Athens Drive Community LibraryBorrow it
      1420 Athens Drive, Raleigh, NC, 27606, US
      35.7686517 -78.7113269
    • Duraleigh Road Community LibraryBorrow it
      5800 Duraleigh Road, Raleigh, NC, 27612, US
      35.8571893 -78.7120997
    • Eva Perry Regional LibraryBorrow it
      2100 Shepherd's Vineyard Drive, Apex, NC, 27502, US
      35.743253 -78.825125
    • Holly Springs Community LibraryBorrow it
      300 West Ballentine Street, Holly Springs, NC, 27540, US
      35.6501234 -78.8363979
    • Northeast Regional LibraryBorrow it
      4401 Green Elm Lane, Raleigh, NC, 27614, US
      35.9535279 -78.544333
    • North Regional Library Borrow it
      7009 Harps Mill Road, Raleigh, NC, 27615, US
      35.880961 -78.628395
    • West Regional LibraryBorrow it
      4000 Louis Stephens Drive, Cary, NC, 27519, US
      35.8146787 -78.8646832
Processing Feedback ...