The Resource The scent of secrets : a novel, Jane Thynne

The scent of secrets : a novel, Jane Thynne

Label
The scent of secrets : a novel
Title
The scent of secrets
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Jane Thynne
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
  • "Clara Vine, a half-Jewish Anglo-German, uses her unique access to the upper echelons of pre-war Nazi society to spy for her native Britain. The novel richly fuses fact and fiction with a cast of real Nazis and their British admirers, such as the Mitford sisters and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. Clara Vine, through her friendship with Eva Braun, finds herself enmeshed in a plot to assassinate Hitler"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Thynne, Jane
Dewey number
823/.914
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6070.H96
LC item number
S34 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Actresses
  • Intelligence officers
  • Espionage
  • Germany
Label
The scent of secrets : a novel, Jane Thynne
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
pages ; cm
Isbn
9780553393903
Isbn Type
(softcover)
Lccn
2015011131
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
2015011131
Label
The scent of secrets : a novel, Jane Thynne
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
pages ; cm
Isbn
9780553393903
Isbn Type
(softcover)
Lccn
2015011131
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
2015011131

Library Locations

    • Athens Drive Community LibraryBorrow it
      1420 Athens Drive, Raleigh, NC, 27606, US
      35.7686517 -78.7113269
    • Cameron Village Regional LibraryBorrow it
      1930 Clark Avenue, Raleigh, NC, 27605, US
      35.789611 -78.6579744
    • Cary Community LibraryBorrow it
      310 South Academy Street, Cary, NC, 27511, US
      35.784208 -78.78162309999999
    • Duraleigh Road Community LibraryBorrow it
      5800 Duraleigh Road, Raleigh, NC, 27612, US
      35.8571893 -78.7120997
    • East Regional LibraryBorrow it
      946 Steeple Square Court, Knightdale, NC, 27545, US
      35.80288669999999 -78.4869501
    • Eva Perry Regional LibraryBorrow it
      2100 Shepherd's Vineyard Drive, Apex, NC, 27502, US
      35.743253 -78.825125
    • Fuquay-Varina Community LibraryBorrow it
      133 South Fuquay Avenue, Fuquay-Varina, NC, 27526, US
      35.5829283 -78.7978114
    • Northeast Regional LibraryBorrow it
      4401 Green Elm Lane, Raleigh, NC, 27614, US
      35.9535279 -78.544333
    • North Regional Library Borrow it
      7009 Harps Mill Road, Raleigh, NC, 27615, US
      35.880961 -78.628395
    • Southeast Regional LibraryBorrow it
      908 7th Avenue, Garner, NC, 27529, US
      35.7060093 -78.62109339999999
    • Wake Forest Community LibraryBorrow it
      400 East Holding Avenue, Wake Forest, NC, 27587, US
      35.9699239 -78.5102266
    • Wendell Community LibraryBorrow it
      207 South Hollybrook Road, Wendell, NC, 27591, US
      35.77874 -78.366075
Processing Feedback ...