The Resource The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Title
The world's fastest man
Title remainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Statement of responsibility
Michael Kranish
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a ... portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure: Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kranish, Michael
Dewey number
  • 796.6/2092
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
GV1051.T3
LC item number
K73 2019
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Taylor, Major
  • Cyclists
  • African American cyclists
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 343-348) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 365 pages
Isbn
9781501192593
Lccn
2019006827
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
2019006827
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 343-348) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 365 pages
Isbn
9781501192593
Lccn
2019006827
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
2019006827

Library Locations

    • Athens Drive Community LibraryBorrow it
      1420 Athens Drive, Raleigh, NC, 27606, US
      35.7686517 -78.7113269
    • Cameron Village Regional LibraryBorrow it
      1930 Clark Avenue, Raleigh, NC, 27605, US
      35.789611 -78.6579744
    • Cary Community LibraryBorrow it
      310 South Academy Street, Cary, NC, 27511, US
      35.784208 -78.78162309999999
    • Duraleigh Road Community LibraryBorrow it
      5800 Duraleigh Road, Raleigh, NC, 27612, US
      35.8571893 -78.7120997
    • East Regional LibraryBorrow it
      946 Steeple Square Court, Knightdale, NC, 27545, US
      35.80288669999999 -78.4869501
    • Eva Perry Regional LibraryBorrow it
      2100 Shepherd's Vineyard Drive, Apex, NC, 27502, US
      35.743253 -78.825125
    • Fuquay-Varina Community LibraryBorrow it
      133 South Fuquay Avenue, Fuquay-Varina, NC, 27526, US
      35.5829283 -78.7978114
    • Green Road Community LibraryBorrow it
      4101 Green Road, Raleigh, NC, 27604, US
      35.8392837 -78.5918724
    • Holly Springs Community LibraryBorrow it
      300 West Ballentine Street, Holly Springs, NC, 27540, US
      35.6501234 -78.8363979
    • Leesville Community LibraryBorrow it
      5105 Country Trail, Raleigh, NC, 27613, US
      35.8854118 -78.71521709999999
    • Northeast Regional LibraryBorrow it
      4401 Green Elm Lane, Raleigh, NC, 27614, US
      35.9535279 -78.544333
    • North Regional Library Borrow it
      7009 Harps Mill Road, Raleigh, NC, 27615, US
      35.880961 -78.628395
    • Richard B Harrison Community LibraryBorrow it
      1313 New Bern Avenue, Raleigh, NC, 27610, US
      35.7803041 -78.6182102
    • Southeast Regional LibraryBorrow it
      908 7th Avenue, Garner, NC, 27529, US
      35.7060093 -78.62109339999999
    • Southgate Community LibraryBorrow it
      1601-14 Cross Link Road, Raleigh, NC, 27610, US
      35.7551408 -78.6147494
    • Wake Forest Community LibraryBorrow it
      400 East Holding Avenue, Wake Forest, NC, 27587, US
      35.9699239 -78.5102266
    • Wendell Community LibraryBorrow it
      207 South Hollybrook Road, Wendell, NC, 27591, US
      35.77874 -78.366075
    • West Regional LibraryBorrow it
      4000 Louis Stephens Drive, Cary, NC, 27519, US
      35.8146787 -78.8646832
    • Zebulon Community LibraryBorrow it
      1000 Dogwood Drive, Zebulon , NC, 27597, US
      35.836455 -78.3197491
Processing Feedback ...